April 09, 2009

News Release

For Immediate Release

City Council Swearing-in Ceremony

The new members of the Springfield City Council will be sworn in at a special meeting at 11:30 a.m., Tuesday, April 14, 2009, at Council Chambers in Historic City Hall.

The current Council will first have to certify the results of Tuesday’s election and address several other housekeeping items. Following that, City Clerk Brenda Cirtin will administer the Oath of Office to: Mayor Jim O’Neal; Zone 1 Councilman Nicholas Ibarra; Zone 4 Councilman Scott Bailes; General A Councilman Robert Stephens; and General B Councilman John Rush. The Oath of Office is outlined in Section 19.8 of the City Charter. The public, family members and friends of the City Councilmembers are invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, the new Councilmembers will return to the Busch Building 4th Floor Conference Room for the regularly scheduled weekly lunch meeting. City Finance Director Mary Mannix Decker will present a background primer on the City’s budget and fund types. It is intended to provide preparation for the presentation of the FY10 budget to Council by the May 1 deadline established in the City Charter.

The public is invited to a reception for the outgoing members of City Council that will take place at 4 p.m., Monday, April 20, in the Busch Building Lobby. The program will begin about 4:15 p.m., but guests are invited to drop by anytime between 4 and 5:30 p.m.

For more information, contact: Louise Whall, Director of Public Information, 864-1010.

city of springfield

Office of the City Clerk

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1651 • Fax: 417-864-1649 • springfieldmo.gov