April 10, 2009

News Release

For Immediate Release

Pension Task Force Applications Re-opened

The incoming Springfield City Council will accept additional applications for the Police/Fire Pension Fund Citizens’ Task Force beginning immediately and continuing through a deadline of 5 p.m., Thursday, April 16, 2009.

Citizens who are still interested in serving on the Task Force, but had not applied previously, are invited to submit an application to be considered for the remaining seats on the Task Force that will be filled by the incoming City Council.

The application form can be submitted online on the City’s Web site at: www.springfieldmo.gov. Citizens who don’t have access to the Internet can call 864-1010 to have a copy of the application mailed to them. Or they can visit the Busch Building, 840 Boonville Ave., to pick up an application form during regular business hours.

The new City Council will select six members to join nine members selected by the outgoing Councilmembers. The outgoing Council initially selected 11 members, but two of them will not serve based on potential conflicts of interest. They are Carol Milhalevich, whose husband works for the City of Springfield in a Public Works position, and Matt Morrow, who is the executive director of the Home Builders Association of Greater Springfield. The HBA is currently involved at the state legislative level on an issue regarding residential home sprinkler requirements for new construction and its position is inconsistent with the position adopted by the City Council at the recommendation of the Springfield Fire Department.

After next Thursday’s deadline, both the incoming and ongoing City Council members will be asked to provide their recommendations for the additional six positions by 5 p.m., Monday, April 20, so the full Council can discuss and select those individuals during its weekly lunch meeting on Tuesday, April 21.

Mayor-elect Jim O’Neal said the new Council will be asked to select six individuals from the new applications, the remaining applicants in the original group of 54, and others who have been recommended by Councilmembers. Individuals who  have already submitted applications do not need to re-apply if they still wish to be considered for service on the Task Force.

For more information, contact: Louise Whall, Director of Public Information, 864-1010.

city of springfield

Department of Public Information

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1010 • Fax: 417-864-1114 • springfieldmo.gov