May 13, 2009

News Release

For Immediate Release

City Receives Safe Community Awards

The City of Springfield and the Springfield-Greene County Park Board are two of the organizations that will be honored with Safe Community Awards at a ceremony at 1 p.m., Thursday, May 14, 2009.

The ceremony will take place at the Springfield Art Museum, 1111 Brookside Drive.

The City’s Traffic Engineering Division will be honored for its Coordinated Traffic Safety Program. The program includes the signal system coordination and joint City-State coordination at the Transportation Management Center; a variety of safe routes to schools initiatives; public education and information efforts such as the monthly Crash Report Cards and annual Traffic Crash Book; and neighborhood traffic initiatives such as the 25 mph residential street speed limit conversion.

The Springfield-Greene County Park Board was honored for its commitment to safety throughout its programming for both users of its services and Parks employees. As an example, the Aquatics Section was cited for its in-service training, regular skills evaluations and certification updates beyond the standard requirements. The Park Board also includes safety and injury prevention components in each of its community programs ranging from Mommy & Me to the Senior Games.

When the World Health Organization named Springfield a Safe Community in 2007, it was only the third U.S. city to be recognized for this international distinction. This year’s Safe Community nominations were reviewed by an international panel of judges from Canada, Sweden, New Zealand and the United States.

City Manager Greg Burris will present all of the local awards at the May 14 ceremony.

For more information, contact: Louise Whall, Director of Public Information, 864-1010; or Debora Biggs, Safety Council of the Ozarks, 869-2121.

city of springfield

Department of Public Information

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1010 • Fax: 417-864-1114 •