June 12, 2009

News Release

For Immediate Release

Jodie Adams Receives Leadership Award

On June 9th, Leadership Springfield awarded Springfield Parks Director, Jodie Adams with the organization’s top award for Leadership, The O. Franklin Kenworthy Award, at the Organization’s annual meeting held at the Clarion in Springfield, MO.

Jodie Adams, award recipient, with David Hall, Leadership Springfield Board Vice President, and Steve Gassel, Leadership Springfield Board President

Adams has been with Springfield Parks for 35 years. She became Director in 2006, after working her way through the ranks, including Superintendent of Recreation and Assistant Director. As Director of Parks for the Springfield-Greene County Park Board, Adams oversees a metropolitan parks system of 92 park sites, 40 facilities, more than 80 miles of linear park greenway trails, a zoo, and a $34 million operating budget.

In addition to numerous local recognitions, Adams is the current President of the National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA) and is an Executive Officer of its Board of Trustees. She also serves on the Boards of Directors for the Missouri Park and Recreation Association (MPRA), Community Olympic Development Program, and Missouri Sports Hall of Fame. She is a Past Board Member of the United States Tennis Association, Past-President of both MPRA and the Springfield Regional Arts Council, and a graduate of Leadership Springfield Class of XIX. Special recognition includes recipient of the Missourian Award; MPRA Fellow Award; a member of the Missouri Sports, USTA/Missouri Valley, Springfield Softball, and Missouri State University Athletic Halls of Fame.

Adams holds a degree from Missouri State University in Recreation/Administration, along with graduate work in Public Administration from Missouri State University, NRPA Executive Development School, Rocky Mountain Revenue Management School, and the Southwest Training Institute.

Before her career with the Park Board, Adams was a successful tennis and softball player. Her experience and passion for sports, recreation, and public park systems has elevated the Springfield metropolitan area as one of the leaders in the nation for quality facilities, open spaces and trails, tournaments, and unique programming.

The O. Franklin Kenworthy Award for Outstanding Leadership was established in memory of Franklin Kenworthy, a posthumous graduate of Leadership Springfield Class III. Each year commencing in 1989, at the Annual Meeting of Leadership Springfield, Inc., the Franklin O. Kenworthy Award for Outstanding Leadership is presented to a Leadership Springfield Alumni.  The recipient of the award is selected by a committee appointed by the Leadership Springfield President based on their commitment to Leadership Springfield, involvement in community service activities, good citizenship, leadership qualities and moral standards.

For more information, contact: Jamie Dopp, Communications Chair, 417.268.3018, jdopp@ky3.com OR Kim Everest, Leadership Springfield Coordinator, 417.862.5567, kim@springfieldchamber.com