April 12, 2010

News Release

For Immediate Release

Choose Environmental Excellence Awards Luncheon

The 10th Annual Springfield/Greene County Choose Environmental Excellence awards will be presented Wednesday, April 14, 2010, at a luncheon at the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce as a part of Springfield’s Earth Day activities throughout the month. Eight organizations will be presenting awards this year.

The Watershed Committee of the Ozarks award will showcase accomplishments that further the protection of Springfield’s drinking water resources. Executive Director Loring Bullard will present the award. (Contact: Loring Bullard, 866-1127)

Solid Waste Management District “O” Executive Board members will recognize efforts toward waste reduction and recycling with their Environmental Service Awards. District “O” covers Christian, Polk, Dallas, Greene and Webster counties. Waste District “O” Chair Tim Smith will present the awards. (Contact: Robert Hamilton, 859-5786)

The Springfield/Greene County Environmental Advisory Board will recognize a business, agency, group or individual that has gone beyond normal practices to promote, improve or support sustainable environmentally conscious activities. Board Chair Mike Kromrey will make the presentation. (Contact: Karen McKinnis, 864-1623)

The Ozarks Clean Air Alliance, a subcommittee of the Environmental Collaborative of the Community Partnership of the Ozarks, will recognize efforts made to benefit the health of citizens in the region through air-quality protection and improvement. Doug Neidigh, Executive Director of Drury University’s Ozarks Center for Sustainable Solutions, will present the award. (Contact: Doug Neidigh, 873-7641)

The Tree City USA Citizens Advisory Committee will recognize efforts toward protecting and enhancing Springfield’s community forest. Chair Bridget Dierks will make the presentation.  (Contacts:  Joe Payne, 417-864-1954; Benjamin Kellner, 864-1178)

The Partnership for Sustainability will recognize a local business whose efforts toward environmental stewardship serve as a model for business and industry. Partnership Co-Chair Michael Garner will present the award. (Contact: Emily Fox, 862-9910; Michael Garner, 885-3766)

The Greater Ozarks Audubon Society will recognize exemplary efforts toward its mission of promoting bird conservation in southwest Missouri. GOAS Past-President Lisa Berger will present the award. (Contact: Lisa Berger, 882-1017)

The Environmental Collaborative of the Community Partnership of the Ozarks will recognize efforts exemplifying partnering and working together to foster an appreciation of the role of a healthy natural environment in the health and well being of the southwest Missouri region. Michelle Garand will present the award. (Contact: Barbara Lucks, 864-2005.)

Reservations for the luncheon are still available by calling the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce at 862-5567 or online at www.SpringfieldChamber.com.

Choose Environmental Excellence is a voluntary, non-regulatory education program that encourages increased awareness of our impact on our natural environment, presents viable alternatives, and recognizes accomplishments that foster environmentally responsible decisions.

Media Note: A follow-up news release announcing the winners will be sent after the ceremony.

For more information, contact: Barbara Lucks, Project Coordinator Springfield-Greene County Choose Environmental Excellence, Springfield Public Works, 864-2005.

city of springfield

Department of Public Works

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1900 • springfieldmo.gov