April 14, 2010

News Release

For Immediate Release

Environmental Awards Presented at Luncheon

Eight Springfield area organizations presented awards today to recognize environmental achievements at the 10th Annual Springfield/Greene County Choose Environmental Excellence luncheon at the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce to mark Earth Day 2010.

The Watershed Committee of the Ozarks recognized Sue Dyle, Rebecca Zigler and Misty Mitchell for their dedication to the WOLF (Wonders of the Outdoors Learning Facility) school. Loring Bullard, Executive Director, presented the award. (Contact: Loring Bullard: 866-1127)

Solid Waste Management District “O” Executive Board recognized Greenway Recycling and Fiber Management for their support and assistance to District “O” recycling centers, which have made recycling services available to 23 cities in the five-county area served by the Waste District: Christian, Dallas, Polk, Webster, and Greene. Greene County Administrator and Solid Waste Management District “O” Chair, Tim Smith presented the award to business owners Jim Von Behren of Greenway Recycling and Rod Triplett of Fiber Management. (Contact: Robert Hamilton, 859-5786)

The Ozarks Clean Air Alliance, a subcommittee of the Environmental Collaborative of the Community Partnership of the Ozarks, recognized Springfield R-12 and Rogersville schools, for their efforts in retrofitting school buses to reduce diesel emissions, and Natasha Longpine, planner with the Ozarks Transportation Organization, for her efforts with Ozarks Commute. Dale Smith, Logan-Rogersville Schools, and Russ Noe, Springfield Public Schools accepted awards. Doug Neidigh, Executive Director of Drury’s Ozarks Center for Sustainable Solutions, presented the awards. (Contact:  Doug Neidigh, 873-7641)

The Springfield/Greene County Environmental Advisory Board recognized Mayor Pro Tem Dan Chiles for his leadership, public service and private sector commitment to environmental protection.  Chair Mike Kromrey presented the award. (Contact: Mike Kromrey, 866-1127)

The City of Springfield’s Tree City USA Citizen’s Advisory Committee recognized Abbe Ehlers, former Committee Chair, for her long-term advocacy and efforts to preserve and protect Springfield’s urban forest. Current Committee Chair Bridget Dierks presented the award.  (Contact: Joe Payne, 864-1954)

The Partnership for Sustainability presented its Environmental Excellence Award to BKD, LLP recognizing its commitment to environmental sustainability. BKD, LLP, also is the first business to earn the “Green Level” or highest environmental rating of the Ozarks GreenScore program.  Michael Garner, Partnership Co-Chair, presented the award. BKD Managing Partner John Wanamaker accepted the award.  (Contact: Emily Fox, 862-9910, or Michael Garner, 885-3766.)

The Greater Ozarks Audubon Society recognized Charles Burwick as the recipient of its Conservation Environmental Excellence award. Lisa Berger, Vice president of Audubon Missouri Board of Trustees and Past President and current Board Member of the Greater Ozarks Audubon Society, presented the award.  (Contact Lisa Berger, 882-1017)

Community Partnership of the Ozarks Environmental Collaborative recognized Doug Neidigh, Drury University’s Ozarks Center for Sustainable Solutions, for his leadership and fostering of collaboration to protect and enhance the air quality of the region. Michelle Garand presented the award. (Contact: Barbara Lucks, 864-2005)

Choose Environmental Excellence is a voluntary, non-regulatory education program that encourages increased awareness of our impact on our natural environment, presents viable alternatives and recognizes accomplishments that foster environmentally responsible decisions.

For more information, contact: Barbara Lucks, Project Coordinator Springfield-Greene County Choose Environmental Excellence, Springfield Public Works, 864-2005

city of springfield

Department of Public Works

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1900 • springfieldmo.gov