May 12, 2010

News Release

For Immediate Release

Gift of Time Nominations Due Friday, May 14

Nominations can be submitted online by going to, or by mail to the Council of Churches of the Ozarks, address below.

The Gift of Time Awards is the original volunteer recognition event in the Ozarks. Since 1991, the Gift of Time Awards have recognized 190 volunteers who have contributed thousands of hours to make our community a better place to live.

Ten nominees will be selected as the Volunteers of the Year. Announcement of the award recipients will remain a secret to everyone, including the winners, until the Gift of Time Luncheon at noon, Thursday, June 17, 2010, at the Ramada Oasis Convention Center. All nominees will be recognized for their volunteer efforts during the luncheon. Portraits of Gift of Time Award recipients will be displayed on the Rosanna Bradshaw Memorial Wall of Fame in the Busch Municipal Building throughout the year. The Wall of Fame’s namesake was an active volunteer in the Ozarks for many years and helped to create the Gift of Time program.

The deadline for nominations is 5 p.m., Friday, May 14, 2010. Nominations can be submitted online by going to Rules and further information are also available on the nomination Web page. Previous winners are not eligible, and a complete list of previous winners is available online. The key portion of the nomination process is a short essay of 500 words or less about the nominee’s recent contributions and service to the community, as well as any organizations with which he or she is involved. All of the necessary nomination materials also may be mailed to: Gift of Time, PO Box 3947, Springfield MO, 65808-3947.

The Gift of Time Awards are sponsored by the Council of Churches of the Ozarks and partners that include: 417 Magazine; B & E Printing; B.J.’s Trophy Shop; the City of Springfield; CoxHealth; Dan Emrie Photography; the Ramada Oasis Convention Center; the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce; and the Southwest Missouri Association of Volunteer Administrators.

For more information about the nomination process and the Gift of Time Awards, contact: Sharon Bradford or Beverly Bullock with the Council of Churches of the Ozarks, (417) 862-3595.

city of springfield

Department of Public Information

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1010 • Fax: 417-864-1114 •