January 24, 2011

News Release

For Immediate Release

Planning & Zoning Commission Announces 2011 Chairs, Membership

The Springfield Planning & Zoning Commission has selected its chair and vice chair for 2011. Each year, the Commission selects a chair and vice chair from its membership, as outlined in the Springfield City Charter.

The new chair is Shelby Lawhon. Mr. Lawhon is a Claims Representative with the Social Security Administration in Springfield and previously served on the City's Personnel Board from 2000-2004. The new vice chair is Matthew Edwards. Mr. Edwards is a Project Manager with Connelly Mechanical, Inc. Lawhon and Edwards are both serving their second three-year term on the Commission.

Under the Springfield City Charter, the Planning & Zoning Commission is comprised of nine members. They are appointed by the City Council and serve without compensation. The members hold office for a term of three years and may be reappointed for a maximum of two terms. Terms begin on January 1 of each year. Jason Ray is the most recent appointee to the Commission, having just begun his first term. The other members include: Thomas Baird IV, King Coltrin, Jim Hansen, Jay McClelland,Gloria Roling, and Phil Young.

The Planning and Zoning Commission holds public hearings and makes recommendations on a variety of issues related tocomprehensive planning, the City zoning ordinance, rezoning applications and more. For more information about the Commission, go to: www.springfieldmo.gov/boards/planzone.

Planning & Zoning Commission meetings are typically held twice each month, at 6:30 p.m. on Thursdays in the City Council Chambers at Historic City Hall. Check the website for a complete schedule. The next meeting is scheduled for Feb. 3. The meetings can be viewed live via CityView, the City's government access channel, on Mediacom digital channels 15.1, 80 and 80.1; on AT&T U-Verse channel 99; and streaming via the CityView homepage at www.springfieldmo.gov/cityview.

For more information, contact: Mike MacPherson, Principal City Planner, (417) 864-1198.

city of springfield

Department of Planning and Development

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1031 • Fax: 417-864-1030 • springfieldmo.gov