April 18, 2011

News Release

For Immediate Release

Choose Environmental Excellence Awards April 22

The Eleventh Annual Springfield/Greene County Choose Environmental Excellence awards will be presented Friday, April 22, 2011, at a luncheon at the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce as a part of Springfield's Earth Day festivities. Ten organizations will be presenting awards this year.

The Watershed Committee of the Ozarks award will showcase accomplishments that further the protection of Springfield's drinking water resources. Matt Keener, Operations Manager, will present the award. (Contact: Loring Bullard, 417-866-1127)

Solid Waste Management District "O" Executive Board members will recognize efforts toward waste reduction and recycling with their Environmental Service Awards. District "O" covers the counties of Christian, Polk, Dallas, Greene and Webster. Waste District "O" Chair, Tim Smith, will present the awards. (Contact: Robert Hamilton, 417-859-5786)

The Springfield/Greene County Environmental Advisory Board will recognize a business, agency, group or individual that has gone beyond normal practices to promote, improve or support sustainable, environmentally conscious activities. Board Chair, James Owen, will make the presentation. (Contact: Karen McKinnis, 417-864-1623)

The Ozarks Clean Air Alliance, a subcommittee of the Environmental Collaborative of the Community Partnership of the Ozarks, will recognize efforts made to benefit the health of citizens in the region through air quality protection and improvement. Doug Neidigh, Executive Director of Drury University's Ozarks Center for Sustainable Solutions will present the award. (Contact: Doug Neidigh, 417-873-7641)

The Tree City USA Citizens Advisory Committee will recognize efforts toward protecting and enhancing Springfield's community forest. Chair, Janice Greene, will make the presentation. (Contacts: Casey Kellner, 417-864-1135; Benjamin Kellner, 417-864-1178)

The Partnership for Sustainability will recognize a local business whose efforts toward environmental stewardship serve as a model for business and industry. Partnership Chair-elect Bob Norton will present the award. (Contact: Web Freeman, 417-862-8459)

The Greater Ozarks Audubon Society will recognize exemplary efforts toward its mission of promoting bird conservation in southwest Missouri. Myra Scroggs, President, will present the award. (Contact: Myra Scroggs, 417-883-4015)

The Environmental Collaborative of the Community Partnership of the Ozarks will recognize efforts exemplifying partnering and working together to foster an appreciation of the role of a healthy natural environment in the health and well being of the southwest Missouri region. Michelle Garand will present the award. (Contact: Barbara Lucks, 417-864-2005)

Ozark Greenways, Inc. will recognize efforts toward meeting the organization's mission of preserving green space through linear parks (greenways/trails). Terry Whaley, Executive Director, will present the award. (Contact: Terry Whaley, 417-864-2014)

Springfield Plateau Chapter Missouri Master Naturalists will recognize the outstanding contributions of an individual toward conservation of the natural environment. President, Carl Haworth, will present the award. (Contact: Carl Haworth, 417-569-4809)

Reservations for the luncheon are available by calling the City of Springfield, Solid Waste Management at 417-864-2002. The cost is $10.

Choose Environmental Excellence is a voluntary, non-regulatory education program that encourages increased awareness of our impact on our natural environment, presents viable alternatives and recognizes accomplishments that foster environmentally responsible decisions.

Media contact: Barbara Lucks, Project Coordinator, Springfield-Greene County Choose Environmental Excellence, 417- 864-2005 or blucks@springfieldmo.gov

Please note: background information on many of these organizations is found in the Directory Section of www.OzarksEnvironment.com

city of springfield

Department of Public Works

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1900 • springfieldmo.gov