July 01, 2011

News Release

For Immediate Release

Three Interim Department Heads Begin Permanent Duties July 1

Three members of the City of Springfield’s Leadership Team will begin permanent duties leading their respective departments with the start of the new fiscal year on July 1.

Broyles and Meyer have served as Co-Interim Directors of Public Works since April 2010. That department is splitting into two separate departments after July 1. The new Public Works Department will include the following divisions: Transportation Engineering, Storm Water Engineering, Street Maintenance, Traffic-Operations, Traffic-Transportation Management, Construction Inspection, and Internal Services. The Environmental Services Department will be comprised of Clean Water Services, Solid Waste Management, the Office of Sustainability, and Environmental Compliance.

Straw has served as Interim Director of Building Development Services since February 2010. The interim appointments came as a result of a hiring freeze on at all levels of City government that began in January 2009. Hiring restrictions were eased this spring, though more than 70 jobs remain frozen at the City.

For more information, contact: Phil Broyles or Steve Meyer, (417) 864-1902; or Chris Straw, (417) 864-1059.

city of springfield

Department of Public Works

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1900 • springfieldmo.gov