August 24, 2011

News Release

For Immediate Release

Police Hold Awards Ceremony

Members of the Springfield Police Department and citizens of this community will be honored tomorrow at noon at the Springfield Art Museum. Police Chief Paul Williams will be presenting awards for contributions to the Springfield community, acts of heroism and outstanding police work.

Katie Scott, Randall Whitman, Amanda Callaway and Lea Dingman will be honored for their combined effort over the past year in the development and successful implementation of a Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) affecting the Robberson Neighborhood Association. All members of the group worked diligently with members of the SPD, the Robberson neighborhood, and city officials to affect real change in the community through drug take back programs, neighborhood watch programs, and reporting and clean up of health code violations to name a few.

Officers Chris Welsh, Robert Reeves, Tom Savard, Cpl Brady Stark and EMS employee Joseph Heath will be honored for their selfless acts of heroism on January 15th, 2011 in which all parties involved entered a burning home in search of two children located inside. Through their act of bravery and disregard for their own safety, the lives of both children were saved with assistance from the Springfield Fire Department.

Officers Mike Stroud and Joseph Curry will be honored regarding their actions on May 2nd, 2011 in which both officers showed great initiative while encountering an armed felon in an apartment complex. The suspect was known for being violent with a history of felony assaults and wanted for being a parole absconder. Once identified, the suspect brandished a weapon in which Officer Stroud immediately recognized and was prepared for, challenging the suspect to drop the weapon. The suspect attempted to flee on foot and was detained by both Stroud and Curry.

In addition, Chief Williams will present awards on behalf of The Springfield Police Sergeants League. The SPSL annually recognizes three individuals from the SPD. The awards this year will be presented to: Cindy Leven for Civilian Employee of the Year, Officer Shawn Clawson for Officer of the Year and Cpl. Steve Schwind for Corporal of the Year.

Cake and punch will be served immediately following the presentations.

Media Contact: Cpl. Matt Brown, phone: 417-864-1786
Release authorized by: Police Chief Paul Williams

springfield police department

Springfield Police Department

Headquarters: 321 E. Chestnut Expy., Springfield, MO 65802
South District Station: 2620 W. Battlefield Rd., Springfield, MO 65807
417-864-1810 •