April 03, 2013

News Release

For Immediate Release

Citizens Renew 1/4 cent Capital Improvement Sales Tax

Springfield voters renewed the City's ¼ cent capital improvements sales tax for the eighth time since it was first implemented in 1989. The tax is projected to generate about $25.5 million over three years. The tax funds intersection upgrades, major street paving, additional trees, stormwater projects and new sidewalks, among other projects. The tax comes up for renewal every three years. With 98.7% of precincts reporting, close to 75 percent of voters (9,438 yes and 3,331 no) supported the renewal. Countywide, voter turnout was about 12%.

A full list of the proposed tax uses, as well as projects funded by past tax renewals, is available on the City of Springfield website at www.springfieldmo.gov/election.

Jan Fisk was elected to Council General Seat A, a position she was originally appointed to in 2012. Craig Fishel earned the Council Zone 4 seat, vacated by Scott Bailes, who did not seek reelection.

Three other candidates ran unopposed.

Mayor Bob Stephens will serve a two-year term, while Zone 1 Councilman Jeff Seifried will serve an additional four years and Craig Hosmer will replace John Rush in the General B Council seat, who did not seek reelection.

A farewell reception honoring Councilmen Scott Bailes and John Rush will take place at 4:30 p.m. Monday, April 8 in the lobby of the Busch Municipal Building. Newly elected and reelected Council members will be sworn in at the 6:30 p.m. City Council meeting that same evening. The current Council will address previously introduced issues, before the swearing in and transition to the new Council.

For more information, contact: Cora Scott, Director of Public Information & Civic Engagement, 417-864-1009 (office) | 417-380-3352 (cell), cscott@springfieldmo.gov

city of springfield

Department of Public Information

840 Boonville Avenue • P.O. Box 8368 • Springfield, MO 65801
417-864-1010 • Fax: 417-864-1114 • springfieldmo.gov