City Council

City Council wants to hear from citizens on crime, community race relations, race relations and policing

Springfield City Council will engage the community about three substantive topics affecting the Springfield community this fall with three in-person listening sessions and a call to submit comments and recorded testimony. The topics they want to hear from the community about are:

  • Crime and the Community
  • Race Relations and the Community
  • Race Relations and Policing.

A growing number of citizens have been attending regularly scheduled City Council meetings and speaking under the Petitions and Remonstrances agenda item, and the council wishes to expand the community’s ability to speak with them about these key and timely topics. While a scientific survey on related issues is being commissioned, it will take several months to put out for bid and administer. City Council desires to hear directly from citizens on these topics in the meantime.

Citizens can submit written comments to City Council on the above topics at Paper forms are available at Springfield-Greene County library locations at the front desk. Written comments will be accepted through 5 p.m. Nov. 28.

All submitted comments and recordings on the above topics will be shared with City Council in full for discussion by the council before a City Council retreat planned for December.

About City Council
Springfield City government is based on the Council/Manager system.

By Charter, the City has eight council members who are each elected for a four-year term on a non-partisan basis, and a Mayor who is elected for a two-year term.

The City Manager is appointed by Council to be the chief executive and administrative officer of the City. He enforces the laws as required by the Charter. The presiding officer at Council meetings is the Mayor.


  • Every other Monday, 6:30 p.m., City Council Chambers, Historic City Hall, 830 N. Boonville Ave. There is typically only one regular meeting in December. 
  • Tuesdays at noon, usually in the Busch Municipal Building's Councilman Denny Whayne Conference Room on the 4th floor.

Council meetings are open to the public.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are prepared before the meeting. Minutes are available following approval.

View agendas, minutes and previous meetings


Council elections are held the first Tuesday of April.

Email Notice
All email correspondence with City Council members becomes public record.