Awards & Achievements

The Springfield Fire Department was proud to honor many of its own, along with several citizens, during its annual awards ceremony Feb. 11, 2014. Members from 9 crews and 11 civilians were honored with Medical Life Save Awards. Two additional civilians were honored with Fire Life Save Awards. 

Other awards:
Firefighter of the Year:                Fire Officer of the Year:
Geoffrey Hammer                       Olan Morelan   
  Hammer, Geoff                                Morelan, Olan
Relive some of our achievements as you view a video of the Fire Department's 2013 highlights.
Springfield Fire Captains Receive National Recognition

Three captains with the Springfield Fire Department have received the professional designation of Fire Officer by the Center for Public Safety Excellence. Captain Heith Aldridge and Captain Kelly Ash are two of just 10 fire officers worldwide who received their designation during the 2014 CPSE Excellence Conference earlier this month. Training Captain Olan Morelan received his designation in February. Designees must demonstrate continued career improvement and development, professional and personal growth, and a commitment to continuing education, training and skill proficiency.

Fire Captain’s Ash and Aldridge have been with the City of Springfield for 16 and 20 years, respectively. Training Captain Morelan, with the City since 2002, was recently named Springfield’s 2013 Fire Officer of the Year. 

Captain Kelly Ash                    Captain Heath Aldridge
Ash, Kelly                            Aldridge, Heith

Commissioned Federal Marshals
 Fire Marshals
 All 5 Springfield Fire Department Fire Marshals received limited commissions through the U.S.Marshal’s Office on June 9, 2011, as part of a nationwide strategy giving them the ability to assist in investigations across jurisdictional boundaries. For example, if an explosion occurs in northern Arkansas, they can go to and assist in the investigation as needed.

In the photo at right, left to right: Kevin Binam, Ben Basham, Mark Epps, Bill Spence, and Phil Noah.