News Flash

City of Springfield Environment News Releases

Posted on: April 26, 2016

16th annual Choose Environmental Excellence awards to be presented Friday, April 29



The 16th annual Springfield/Greene County Choose Environmental Excellence awards will be presented Friday, April 29 at a noon luncheon at the White River Conference Center, 600 W. Sunshine, Springfield, as a part of Springfield's Earth Day/Earth Month festivities. Twelve organizations will be presenting a total of 19 awards this year. Reservations are available by contacting Barbara Lucks at 864-2005 or [email protected]

The Watershed Committee of the Ozarks award will showcase accomplishments that further the protection of Springfield's drinking water resources. Mike Kromrey, Executive Director, will present the award. (Contact: Mike Kromrey 866-1127)

The Ozarks Headwaters Recycling and Materials Management District (formerly Solid Waste Management District “O”) Executive Board members will recognize efforts toward waste reduction and recycling with their Environmental Service Awards. District "O" covers the counties of Christian, Polk, Dallas, Greene and Webster. Tim Smith, Board Chair, will present the awards. (Contact: Angie Filbeck, 868-4197)

The Springfield/Greene County Environmental Advisory Board will recognize two businesses, agencies, groups or individuals that have gone beyond normal practices to promote, improve or support sustainable environmentally conscious activities. Chair, David Vaughan, will make the presentation. (Contact: Barbara Lucks, 864-2005)

The Ozarks Clean Air Alliance, a subcommittee of the Environmental Collaborative of the Community Partnership of the Ozarks, will present an award to recognize efforts made to benefit the health of citizens in the region through air quality protection and improvement. Natasha Longpine, Immediate Past-Chair, will present the award. (Contact: Barbara Lucks, 864-2005)

The Tree City USA Citizens Advisory Committee will recognize efforts toward protecting and enhancing Springfield's community forest. Jane Earnhart, Chair, will make the presentation. (Contact: Casey Kellner, 864-1135)

The Greater Ozarks Audubon Society will recognize exemplary efforts toward their mission of promoting bird conservation in southwest Missouri. Dr. Janice Greene will present the award. (Contact: Dr. Janice Greene, 836-5306)

The Environmental Collaborative of the Community Partnership of the Ozarks will recognize efforts exemplifying partnering and collaborating to foster an appreciation of the role of a healthy natural environment in the health and well being of the southwest Missouri region. Mandy Hagseth, Director of Community Collaborative Initiative, Community Partnership of the Ozarks, will present the award. (Contact: Barbara Lucks, 864-2005)

The Springfield Plateau Chapter Missouri Master Naturalists will recognize the outstanding contributions of an individual toward conservation of the natural environment. Alane Roy, President, will make the presentation. (Contact: Barbara Lucks, 864-2005)

Missouri State University Sustainability Advisory Committee will recognize efforts demonstrating a sustained commitment to environmental excellence, programming that makes an impact on environmental excellence and outcomes that indicate that the award winner is making a difference. Co-chairs Matt Morris, Vice President for Administrative & Information Services and Dr. Tamera Jahnke, Dean, College of Natural & Applied Sciences will make the presentation. (Contact: Dr. Tamera Jahnke, 836-5249)

The James River Basin Partnership will recognize outstanding efforts to protect the water quality in the James River Basin. Tiffany Frey, Executive Director, will present the award. (Contact: Tiffany Frey, 836-4847)

Ozark Greenways, Inc. will recognize efforts toward meeting the organization's mission of preserving green space through linear parks (greenways/trails). Terry Whaley, Executive Director, will present the award. (Contact: Lori Tack, 864-2015)

The City of Springfield – Department of Environmental Services will be presenting awards in four categories recognizing outstanding performance by businesses, industries, individuals or groups toward protecting the natural environment of our community and region. Presenters will include: Brian Adams, Air Quality Control Coordinator, (Air Quality); Carrie Lamb, Water Quality Coordinator, (Stormwater Quality); Steve Meyer, Director of Environmental Services and John Waitman, Environmental Compliance Officer, (Clean Water Services); and Erick Roberts, Superintendent of Solid Waste Management, (Solid Waste Management). (Contact: Barbara Lucks, 864-2005)

Choose Environmental Excellence is a voluntary, non-regulatory education program that encourages increased awareness of our impact on our natural environment, presents viable alternatives and recognizes accomplishments that foster environmentally responsible decisions.

For more information, visit or contact: Barbara Lucks, Springfield-Greene County Choose Environmental Excellence, 417-864-2005 (office) [email protected]

Visit the Choose Environmental Excellence website.
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City of Springfield Environment News Releases


City employee dies in accident at landfill

Posted on: February 10, 2016