News Releases

7. City News Releases 2018

Posted on: January 29, 2018

Mayor's Commission for Children welcomes new members



Brigitte Marrs, Executive Director

Mayor’s Commission for Children


[email protected]

The Mayor’s Commission for Children welcomes six new members to the commission and its advisory council.  Missy Riley and Jennifer McClure will join the commission’s existing members in February.  The commission is adding four members to its newly formed advisory council. John Chastain, CoxHealth; Denise Frederick, Springfield Public Schools; Patrick Gartland, Boys and Girls Clubs of Springfield; and Amy Chenoweth, Missouri State University. 

McClure is the vice president of strategic communication at Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce. Prior to this position, she served as a government affairs specialist for HBA of Greater Springfield .

Frederick will serve as the appointed advisory member to the commission, representing Springfield Public Schools.

Chastain is the system director of budgeting at CoxHealth and is a graduate of Missouri State University. He also currently serves as a board member for the Missouri State E-Factory Accelerator Board.

Gartland is the executive director of Boys and Girls Clubs of Springfield and has served terms as the president of Heart of the Ozarks Sertoma Club, as a member of the Ozarks Fighting Back Advisory Board, and on the education and workforce development committee for Field Guide 2030. 

Chenoweth is currently an instructor at Missouri State University, a counselor in private practice and for OACAC Head Start, and is a certified community trainer for counselors, teachers, and parents in topics related to early childhood health.

Riley is currently the director of early childhood and Parents as Teachers for Springfield Public Schools.

About the Mayor's Commission for Children

 Our mission is to act as a catalyst to mobilize and educate our community concerning the health and well-being of local youth and to provide an unbiased report on community progress with respect to these issues. Since its inception, MCC has made strides that have impacted children and parents in the community through reports and program initiatives, and will continue to do so with the vision of creating a thriving educational and support system for Springfield.

Meetings are held at 8 a.m. on the second Tuesday of each month at the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce. Commission and advisory council members serve three-year terms.

The Mayor’s Commission for Children board members comprise:

  • Dr. Elizabeth Andrews
  • Shara Cash
  • Bria Coale
  • Christen Davis
  • Susan Henderson
  • Gerry Lee, chairman
  • Linda Ramey-Greiwe.

The Mayor's Commission for Children advisory council comprises:

  • Dr. Doug McNeal
  • Dr. Kayce Morton
  • Kimberly Shinn Brown
  • Dr. Jennifer Baker
  • Alexis Brown
  • Paul Satterwhite
  • Laurie Edmondson
  • Jan Fisk.

# # #
For more information, please contact Brigitte Marrs at 417-224-1678 or Mayor’s Commission for Children chairman Gerry Lee at 417-766-2818.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in 7. City News Releases 2018

City of Springfield servers down

Posted on: July 30, 2018

City issues Zone Blitz Final Report

Posted on: April 30, 2018

City budget workshops begin

Posted on: April 24, 2018