News Releases

6. City News Releases 2019

Posted on: May 1, 2019

Mayor McClure makes City Council Committee Appointments


Mayor Ken McClure has finalized City Council committee members, with appointments effective immediately.

The Mayor encourages the referral of Council bills involving policy issues and substantive legislative changes to the appropriate City Council committee for additional analysis. Committees are expected to make recommendations regarding the bills to the full Council.

“Committee work plays such an important role in aiding Council to develop the best possible public policy work product,” McClure said. “I sincerely thank each of our volunteer leaders for their willingness to serve in committee roles.”

Committee work adds to the already busy schedule of Springfield’s nine-member City Council. Formal City Council meetings take place every other Monday night at 6:30 p.m. at Historic City Hall. Council Lunch study sessions take place frequently on Tuesdays at noon in the Councilman Denny Whayne Conference Room on the 4th Floor of the Busch Municipal Building.

Committee meeting dates will be determined based on the availability of City Council members and City Clerk’s office will provide a calendar of meetings to the public as soon as it is established.

Each of the standing committees have a membership of four members of the City Council and the Mayor as an ex-officio member. The Committees are appointed by the Mayor, except for The Public Involvement Committee, which is made up of the four  Zone Councilmembers and the Mayor.                                                                        

 The Finance and Administration Committee

Andy Lear, General Councilman (Chair)

Jan Fisk, General Councilwoman

Mike Schilling, Zone 3 Councilman        

Matthew Simpson, Zone 4 Councilman

Areas of Responsibility:

• Fees and charges for City services

• Economic Development

• Federal and State assistance programs

• Supervises Internal Auditor

• Monitors Internal Audit plan

• Makes Recommendations to Council regarding Audit findings

The Plans and Policies Committee

Richard Ollis, General Councilman (Chair)

Craig Hosmer, General Councilman

Andy Lear, General Councilman

Abe McGull, Zone 2 Councilman

Areas of Responsibility:

• Master planning of all areas

• Council goals and procedures

• City Code revisions

The Community Involvement Committee

Craig Hosmer, General Councilman (Chair)

Phyllis Ferguson, Zone 1 Councilwoman

Jan Fisk, General Councilwoman

Richard Ollis, General Councilman

Areas of Responsibility:

• Legislative Priorities

• Neighborhood Issues

• Environmental Issues

The Public Involvement Committee

Mike Schilling, Zone 3 Councilman (Chair)

Phyllis Ferguson, Zone 1 Councilwoman

Abe McGull, Zone 2 Councilman

Matthew Simpson, Zone 4 Councilman

Areas of Responsibility:

• Recommendations for appointment to Boards and Commissions

# # #
For more information, contact Cora Scott, Director of Public Information & Civic Engagement, at 417-380-3352 or 
[email protected], or Anita Cotter, City Clerk, at 417-864-1651 or [email protected].

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in 6. City News Releases 2019


Posted on: October 1, 2019

Phyllis Ferguson named Mayor Pro Tem

Posted on: April 24, 2019

City budget workshops begin

Posted on: April 23, 2019

April sales tax revenues up 8.6%

Posted on: April 9, 2019

March sales tax revenues up 2.5%

Posted on: March 19, 2019